How To Brown A Roasted Turkey In An Electric Roaster [Holiday Meal Blog]

Imagine the worst thing happening on the eve of Thanksgiving. While shopping for last minute preparations, I get a call from my daughter that the oven had stopped working. The first thing came to mind was the turkey, as I immediately begin to panic, wondering what do I do now!

What is Thanksgiving without turkey. Ham or pot roast normally comes second to the main coarse but I just couldn’t imagine Thanksgiving without the turkey. I went on the internet to look up a last minute resolution and ran across a site on How to bake a turkey in a roaster.

I read the how to information but it didn’t solve my issue. Everything I read instructed how to bake in a oven roaster. I just knew there had to be another way, so I looked up videos on different ways to bake a turkey and I ran across an electric roaster.

What a sigh of relief! And a shock to myself that I hadn’t thought of this in the first place. I had never baked in a oven roaster, let alone an electric roaster. I went out and bought an all black electric roaster for under $20! I came home, cleaned it really good for it’s first use and looked up more videos on how to bake a turkey in an electric roaster.

NOW TO WHAT YOU’VE BEEN WAITING FOR …

How to brown a roasted turkey..in an electric roaster.

Soy sauce!!! Soy sauce is one of the best ways to brown a oven roasted turkey. I used a large medal spoon to spread the sauce. Some people might use a brush but I’m little cautious that bristles might get on the turkey, so I’m sticking to the spoon method. The Soy sauce I used has seeds. I suggest if you don’t want seedy finish on your Turkey to make sure you’re buying the non seeded soy or maybe even save your unused soy sauce packs from Chinese restaurant meals. I’ve done that in the past as well. I saused my Turkey about 3 times within the 5 1/2 hours it cooked. I must say, it works everytime!

I had never roasted a turkey in an electric roaster..but since the internet has been my number source and my friend, I thought why not look up turkey roasting ideas. I learned to keep in mind that when baking in an electric roaster, be mindful of the temperature. When using an electric roaster, there’s no time for trial and error.. foods will either come out nicely done, overcooked or dried out, for example vegetables and of course worse case scenario, burned.

* Reminder* Keep an eye on the temperature. I came across a lot of videos of people who burned their turkey to a crisp because they had their roaster on a high temperature setting and cooked the Turkey for almost 6 hours! An electric roaster does not have to be set on a high temperature throughout the period of cooking, however I recommend pre heating at 350゚ but during the duration of cooking the roaster should remain on a minimum of 200 to 250. My turkey roasted in the electric roaster on 200° for 3 hours and 250° for 2 hours.

Depending on the amount of lbs your turkey weighs, depends on the amount of time it should bake or roast. If yout turkey weighs 20 lbs and you’re baking in an conventional oven, I recommend a temperature of 325° for 4 1/2 to 5 1/5 hours. For an electric roaster I recommend a temperature of 225° for 3 1/2 then set your temperature on 250 to 300°. Remember to be mindful of foods in a roaster. If neglected too long you could cause your food to burn quicker than you think.

I hope you all have a safe wonderful Thanksgiving! Stay tuned for more meal blogs in the near future.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.